Graveyard Eikenhof

In my opinion, this cemetery was actually “too young”, I prefer older cemeteries because of their atmosphere and history. Yet it was a good decision to visit a newer cemetery. But since I don’t want to record fresh grief (out of respect for the next of kin) it was more difficult for me to navigate this cemetery. What did I want to record? How could I capture the atmosphere and continue to guarantee anonymity? I will let the collection speak for itself.

About the cemetery

In 1967 the College of Mayor and Aldermen consults ir. Meijsing about the layout of an old cemetery that was purchased by the municipality in 1965.

Meijsing does not join the general social movement that tends to bring death more and more into the taboo sphere. He indicates that he is not in favor of one large cemetery in the outer ring of the city. However, the municipality still manages to be located in one central place outside the center. The then head of the park service, Mr. Rebel, designed an orthogonal structure with a lot of greenery and uniformity in the stoles (standing gravestones).
In September 1969, the green light is given for the construction.
On September 1, 1971, the new cemetery was open.

Source Op Den Rosheuvel

Plaats reactie

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started